Modern Farmhouse Hall Tree

Client Photo

This was my first Hall Tree with cubbies. I have always wanted to make one for our home for a LONG time, but never found the right wall for it. So I settled for the hooks on the board look. I made myself a modern one a few years ago and it works for us, but when the kids were younger and they would come home and leave their backpacks, coats, hats, gloves and shoes on the floor in the entryway. Nothing like slipping on a coat or tripping over shoes on the way in. This Modern Farmhouse Hall Tree is perfect to handle all of that.

Side View

This Modern Farmhouse Hall Tree is 68″W x 78″H x 20″D. Made for a family of 4 and a cute dog. It was huge, but our client had a big entryway so it was perfect! Of course this can be modified to fit your home. I painted it in Sherwin Williams Extra White, to match the trim color in their home. Before all that though, I sprayed 3 coats of Primer. For the framing and bench base I used birch and Pine wood. For the hooks we used Black Modern Hooks. These are my favorite modern looking hooks. They also come in a brass color which I also love. For the shiplap I used a penny to give the perfect spacing. I left all the knots and any other wood characteristics. Those details add character to the build, so I always leave those.

Bench Base

For the bench top I used Poplar Hardwood and stained it in Dark Walnut. While making this top and ripping the wood down, there was a surprise. A bullet. Yep, that’s right a bullet. My husband was helping me that day and was ripping down the wood when some pieces came flying out from the wood and hit him right in the neck and chest. After ripping all the wood we looked over all the pieces and found the hole that the bullet was stuck in. Later on while cleaning up our mess our daughter actually saw something shiny on the ground. It was the tip of the bullet. I have a pic, but its on his phone not mine, otherwise I would’ve attached it. It was a good story to tell our clients at pickup.

Full View

I wish I could remember the dimensions of the cubbies, but they’re pretty deep. Add some cute baskets, to hide the shoes, gloves or hats and you’re set. Another option would be to add pull out drawers, if you don’t want to do baskets. Overall I loved how it turned out and I’m glad my clients loved it.

Leave a comment